Bodies of Water – Ears Will Pop & Eyes Will Blink

February 9, 2008

bodiesofwaterearswillpopI must be a sucker for bands with a big, overwhelming sound, because when the chorus of voices kicked in on the opening track of Los Angeles based band Bodies of Water’s debut album, I was hooked. By the third track, the epic length “It Moves,” I was totally sold on this band’s combination of gospel, folk, psychedelia, indie rock and choral arrangements along the lines of bands like Association and the Fifth Dimension, as well as contemporary peers like the Polyphonic Spree and the Arcade Fire. The music here is inspired and passionate stuff, and wrestles with mostly religious themes with all the attendant joy, confusion, doubt, and ecstastic release involved therein. I liked it a lot, clearly, and it’s definitely worth checking out. Standout cuts: “It Moves,” “I Guess I’ll Forget the Sound, I Guess, I Guess,” “Doves Circled The Sky” and “Here Comes My Hand.”

http://www.myspace.com/bodiesofwater

Leave a Reply

