Thao – We Brave Bee Stings And All

March 6, 2008

Washington D.C. and San Francisco based singer/songwriter Thao’s second album, We Brave Bee Stings And All, is acoustic guitar based folk pop that at least sounds cheerful and happy, though the lyrics often temper the music with emotional ambivalence or uncertainty: ” I’m never gonna leave / And you’re never gonna leave / But you’re never gonna love me / Like I need,” the opening song goes. Another song ends with, “I won’t make you flex emotion / I won’t make you come a little closer / do what you want don’t do it for me / what’s the use in chivalry..” Actually, while I’m all about quoting her, maybe I’ll just quote something that I think sums up her music pretty nicely: “As sharp as I sting / As sharp as I sing / It still soothes you doesn’t it / Like a lick of ice cream…” You should check this album out, is what I’m saying. Standout cuts: “Beat (Health, Life, and Fire),” “Bag Of Hammers,” “Swimming Pools” and “Feet Asleep.”

http://www.myspace.com/thaomusic

Leave a Reply

