Clinic – Do It!

April 18, 2008

Having apparently taken the brown acid, Liverpool based band Clinic turn on, tune in and drop out with their latest release, Do It!, a collection of eleven 60’s psychedelic rock inspired songs. The result is a groovy good time, and one of their most accessible albums yet. True to their penchant for eerie, sometimes menacing music, Do It! more often than not sounds like the soundtrack to a bad trip as opposed to a good one, so longtime fans needn’t worry about them selling out to the Man. They definitely haven’t. Like their last album, Do It! has a running time that hovers around half an hour or so, short, but it’s definitely sweet. Standout cuts: “Memories,” “The Witch,” “Shopping Bag” and “Emotions.”

http://www.myspace.com/clinicvoot

2 Responses to “Clinic – Do It!”

  1. John Says:

    Do you hear the Monkees when you listen to this? I’m looking at reviews and I don’t see anybody who has said that, but I think the entire albums sounds like a lost Monkees record from around the Pisces or Head days. The lead singer reminds me a lot of Mickey Dolenz! He never has before, but I can’t shake the thought of the Monkees when I hear this. Good thing I’m a fan!

  2. radiondn Says:

    You know, I hadn’t thought of that. I’ve heard Monkees influences in other bands lately, but I don’t think I made that connection here. I used to watch The Monkees almost everyday when I was a kid. I’ve lost touch with my roots!


Leave a Reply

