The Brian Jonestown Massacre – My Bloody Underground

May 6, 2008

First full length album in four years from mercurial Anton Newcombe and his band with the ever shifting lineup, the Brian Jonestown Massacre, is 78 minutes plus of shoegaze and psychedelic rock, with some experimental touches thrown in the mix here and there. There are acoustic guitars, electric guitar and synthesizer drones, tambourines, random noises, and vocals that are intelligible, and sometimes not, all those elements carefully assembled, and then again, sometimes not, but somehow it all hangs together, anyway. There are songs with deliberately provocative titles: “Bring Me the Head of Paul McCartney on Heather Mill’s Wooden Peg (Dropping Bombs on the White House),” “Who Fucking Pissed In My Well,” “We Are the Niggers of the World” (a rather nice piano instrumental that nevertheless reminded me, the title, anyway, of “Lick My Love Pump” from This Is Spinal Tap) and “Automatic Faggot for the People.” Some might find My Bloody Underground a bit on the self-indulgent side, while longtime fans might appreciate it more. I’m not sure this would be the album to start with if you’re just coming to Newcombe’s music, but I found myself caught up in it, though the ten minute droning instrumental, “Black Hole Symphony,” that closes the album is something I can’t imagine listening to again anytime soon. (It does, however, have a video, so maybe I’m just a square.) Standout cuts: “Bring Me the Head of Paul McCartney on Heather Mill’s Wooden Peg (Dropping Bombs on the White House),” “Yeah-Yeah,” “Golden – Frost” and “Monkey Powder.”

The Brian Jonestown Massacre Official Site

2 Responses to “The Brian Jonestown Massacre – My Bloody Underground”

  1. guittard Says:

    It’s a nice album. Probably people should start with Give It Back!

    I was just thinking of that Spinal Tap song the other day.

  2. radiondn Says:

    Give It Back! is a good starting point. I was also thinking of Tepid Peppermint Wonderland, the 2004 two disc retrospective.


Leave a Reply

