The Dandy Warhols – …Earth To The Dandy Warhols…

June 2, 2008

The new album (and first post-major label release) from Portland based band the Dandy Warhols is as spacey and out there as the title may suggest to some listeners. …Earth To The Dandy Warhols… is also epic in its scope, maybe even a little bombastic and self-indulgent, and resists easy categorization, which is almost certainly intentional. It’s rock, pop, funk, soul, disco, it’s space rock, it’s blissed out psychedelic rock, it’s electronica. It’s got a beat and you can dance to it. (“Welcome To The Third World” is maybe the wildest track here. It sounds like a re-imagining of “Some Girls” by the Rolling Stones as a funk and disco number, with a rap beat by way of the Sugar Hill Gang.) Which album is it most like? Well, all of them put together, maybe playing at the same time. The album is designed to play endlessly, the beginning and the end linked together by a single repeated sound, so you may not notice right away, like me, when the album has actually concluded and restarted. And it never has to, really, if you don’t want it to. …Earth To The Dandy Warhols… is the sort of album you’ll want to listen to over and over, in part because there’s just so much packed in it, but most importantly, because it’s a fun, entertaining and sometimes exhilarating listen. The last track, the nearly 15 minute “Musee D’Nougat,” seemed excessive to me when I first saw its running time, but it turns out it’s a nice way to ease out of the album and then ease back in if you’re so inclined. Standout cuts: “The World The People Together (Come On),” “Wasp In The Lotus,” “Talk Radio” and “The Legend of The Last of the Outlaw Truckers AKA the Ballad of Sherriff Shorty.”

http://www.myspace.com/thedandywarhols

I obtained my copy of …Earth To The Dandy Warhols… by becoming a member of the band’s new subscription service, which I thought sounded like a good deal, and a good way to support a favorite band. For information on the subscription service, you can go to their official site:

http://www.dandywarhols.com/

4 Responses to “The Dandy Warhols – …Earth To The Dandy Warhols…”

  1. John Says:

    34.99? I was excited but I don’t think I can fork that over. That’s kind of the opposite direction that other bands are taking… To get the Dandy Warhols early and to show you are a supporter you need to pay twice the price. I don’t know if I like that business model. I suppose it’s not that different from Radiohead where they made the money off the hardcore fans who wanted the complete package and high quality.

    That said, I’m excited to hear it in full. It has to be better than Odditorium right? From what I’ve heard it sounds pretty good.

  2. radiondn Says:

    If it were just the album, I wouldn’t have gone for it, but it’s also additional tracks, including live tracks, that will be available, too. I have been accused of being a fanboy, so maybe this is my fanboy ways, but I figured I’d give it a try for one of my favorite bands.

    You CAN listen to the album for freeee at Myspace or their official site. I’m actually fuzzy about when the physical CD will be released generally. Some reports say this fall, which seems like a big gap between this digital release and the CD release.

  3. John Says:

    Yeah, I’ve seen about five different sources with five different release dates! It seems that they are asking for piracy by making it only available at $34.99 with a release date up in the air… it kind of seems backwards to me. It’s one thing to make it free or have the digital download first at a regular price like the Super Furry Animals did. It’s an interesting concept though to give fans a 1 year subscription to the band and it will be something to watch at the least.

    Thanks for the info about the Myspace page. Last time I checked only a couple tracks were up.

  4. radiondn Says:

    The album is also streaming at their official site.

    Australia is apparently the only country where the album will be available purely as a digital download, without buying the subscription as well.

    I haven’t read any news about the response to their subscription model, aside from some complaints about troubles with album downloads, which I didn’t experience.


Leave a Reply

