Santogold

June 3, 2008

Brooklyn based Santogold’s debut album, despite its unfortunate cover image of her apparently spewing gold flakes, is entertaining, high energy pop. Though Santogold’s been compared to M.I.A., the Sri Lankan rapper with whom she’s performed, it’s not a very useful comparison as Santogold is primarily a singer rather than a rapper, and while her material is filled with some witty social commentary (“L.E.S. Artistes,” case in point), it’s nowhere near as politically confrontational as M.I.A.’s work tends to be. That said, the album is engaging fun, jumping effortlessly from genre to genre. Santogold’s singing voice is reminiscent of Gwen Stefani, before Stefani started making Top 40 junk, and the music itself is fueled by old school rap, hip-hop, reggae and a lot of 80’s New Wave influences by way of Missing Persons, Bananarama, the Fun Boy Three and Blondie, for starters. The strongest material is weighted towards the first half of the album, with tracks like the aforementioned “L.E.S. Artistes,” “You’ll Find A Way,” “Shove It” and “Creator.” I also like “I’m A Lady” a lot, too. I’m guessing this will be the soundtrack for a lot of people’s summers. Definitely recommended.

http://www.myspace.com/santogold

One Response to “Santogold”

  1. abbycopuyoc Says:

    I’ve been watching out for up and coming Sri Lankan artists, I’ve been listening to M.I.A., Santogold is new to me. I’ve also been listening to Delon , a rap artist who’s also a Tsunami survivor. What I like about him is he raps positively, and always shows Sri Lankan pride.


Leave a Reply

