Styrofoam – A Thousand Words

June 14, 2008

Belgium based band Styrofoam is a musical project fronted by Arne Van Petegem, active since 2000. A Thousand Words is Styrofoam’s first album for Nettwerk, and features Petegem as lead vocalist on most of the tracks, though he’s got an impressive list of guest vocalists lined up, too, including Jim Adkins from Jimmy Eat World, Blake Hazard of the Submarines, and Josh Rouse. The music here is firmly in the electropop mode, reminiscent of the Postal Service, and the songs are charming and fun and buzz by in no time, making the 45 minute running time seem shorter than it actually is. Definitely recommended for fans of smart indie pop. Standout cuts: “A Thousand Words,” “My Next Mistake,” “Microscope” and “Lil White Boy.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: