The Ettes – Look At Life Again Soon

August 17, 2008

I had some adjusting to do when I first listened to the second album by Los Angeles based the Ettes, as the 60’s inspired garage band sound from their debut, Shake The Dust, was still mostly there, but lead singer Coco’s vocals had a different character this time out. Her singing, which had a grittiness and earthiness to it that was also reflected in the lyrics (see “Dirty” off the first album as an example), sounded a lot more poppy this time out, a lot less raw, more Leslie Gore than Nancy Sinatra. The 11 songs collected on Look At Life Again Soon retain the same catchy, short and sweet approach, but they sound less, well, dangerous on this album, and it’s not a change I necessarily welcomed. That said, the fusion of 60’s bubblegum pop with garage rock works well enough that I eventually warmed up to the new sound, especially on tracks like “I Get Mine,” “Marathon,” “Crown Of Age” and “Pay Up.” I’m certainly not opposed to bands I like striking out in new directions, but I’m hoping to see more of the gritty, raw Ettes I was initially sold on next time out.

http://www.myspace.com/theettes

Leave a Reply

