Cold War Kids – Loyalty To Loyalty

September 25, 2008

Loyalty To Loyalty, Fullerton based band Cold War Kids’ second album, has a jazzy, improvisational feel, coupled with lyrics that people may interpret as blunt and direct, or strident and obvious. This may be a love or hate sort of an album, and for my part, I wouldn’t say I love this album, exactly, but I do find I like it a lot, and when I start to listen to it, I listen to it all the way through. I like the late night quality of it, I like the way it sometimes sounds like the songs are coming together as you listen in, like you’re sitting in a smoky bar after hours, surrounded by Beatnik chicks just wearing their smocks, watching the band play. The guitar and piano work is richly atmospheric, and Nathan Willett’s vocals are the perfect complement, as he sings, croons and wails his way through the songs. Some of the material falls flat, it’s true, but as a whole, I must say I like this album a lot. Standout cuts: “Against Privacy,” “Mexican Dogs,” “Something Is Not Right With Me” and “Relief.”

http://www.myspace.com/coldwarkids

2 Responses to “Cold War Kids – Loyalty To Loyalty”

  1. John Says:

    What albums are your favorites from this year? You like a lot but which ones have really stuck with you?

  2. radiondn Says:

    Well, I think one of my absolute favorites of the year would be Bon Iver’s album. Then this year’s releases by Black Mountain, Okkervil River, Goldfrapp, Chatham County Line, Flight of the Conchords, Shawn Lee’s Ping Pong Orchestra, Ladytron, Sigur Rós, Teddy Thompson, Paul Westerberg’s now unavailable “49:00,” Glen Campbell, and now Lindsey Buckingham, Jenny Lewis, Brightblack Morning Light, Kings Of Leon and TV On The Radio, the latter of which I think will be on a lot of top 10 lists.


Leave a Reply

