Ben Kweller – Changing Horses

February 19, 2009

benkwellerAustin based singer/songwriter Ben Kweller, mostly known for his power pop records, ventures into country with Changing Horses. The country he has in mind to pay tribute to is country from the 40’s through the 60’s primarily, and the first two songs, “Gypsy Rose” and “Old Hat,” are spot on, both excellent mixes of his pop sensibility with credible country arrangements (acoustic guitars, plentiful steel guitar work, some strings, among other touches). The rest of the album has its highs and lows, the latter beginning with the third track, “Fight,” but most of it gets by owing to charm and the sheer earnestness of the whole enterprise. It’s maybe not Kweller’s best work, but it’s an interesting change of pace that yields some good tunes. Standout cuts: “Gypsy Rose,” “Old Hat,” “The Ballad Of Wendy Baker” and “Sawdust Man.”

http://www.kweller.net/
http://www.myspace.com/benkweller

2 Responses to “Ben Kweller – Changing Horses”

  1. Travis Says:

    “Fight” brought my spirits up when I really needed a lift, so I liked the sentiment, even if it’s not actually a good song. I was impressed with this overall considering the acute change in direction for Mr. Kweller.

  2. radiondn Says:

    I didn’t write about this album right away, as my first impression of it wasn’t the best. I found I liked it a lot better once I let it sink in and then gave it a listen all the way through about a week later. I’m guessing this stuff probably goes over even better live. All this to say, I may end up liking “Fight” more than I did the first couple times around.


Leave a Reply

