Sin Fang Bous – Clangour

March 1, 2009

sinfangbousIcelandic musician Sin Fang Bous (Sindri Mar Sigfusson) debuts with Clangour, an eclectic collision/fusion of styles, mixing up indie and psychedelic rock, chamber pop, electronica and experimental music, with a generous helping of folk. It sometimes sounds like Loney, Dear, Animal Collective, the Association and the Ruby Suns all got together to make a record, and the result is dreamy and noisy, chaotic and melodic, frequently all at once. There’s even a surf music inspired rocker called “Melt Down The Knives” thrown in to change things up. Clangour is a pretty impressive debut, both challenging and fun, filled with flashes of brilliance and a prevailing if eccentric and sometimes very weird beauty. Standout cuts: “Advent In Ives Garden,” “Sinkership,” “Melt Down The Knives” and “Carry Me Up To Smell Pine.”


One Response to “Sin Fang Bous – Clangour”

  1. westmont Says:

    dig this to no end. The Jubilee Choruses is beyond amazing. too good.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: