Great Northern – Remind Me Where The Light Is

May 28, 2009

greatnorthernThere are a lot of songs I really like on Los Angeles band Great Northern’s second album, Remind Me Where The Light Is, in particular the opening tracks, “Story” and “Houses,” though I couldn’t put my finger on exactly why I liked them. Then it dawned on me that this is music I would have loved in the 80’s: Big, anthemic, emotional rock, which is absolutely Great Northern’s strong suit. I hesitate to refer to this record as “indie rock,” owing to the fact that if Great Northern’s music is in any way indie, it’s only by virtue of the fact they’ve not yet swept up by a major label, despite their music having appeared on TV soundtracks and commercials. They sound like Lone Justice crossed with the Killers, with a dash of U2 by way of Coldplay. If you enjoy those bands, or Vega 4 or Embrace or the like, then I strongly suggest you try Remind Me Where The Light Is, because I think you’ll find a lot to like here. Not a lot of subtlety, but a lot of pop hooks, and some strong vocals from Rachel Stolte. Standout cuts: “Story,” “Houses,” “Fingers” and “Warning.”

http://www.myspace.com/greatnorthern

Leave a Reply

